6 months ago … and now …

Six months ago, October 18, 2011, I wrote:

It’s hard to admit but I needed to plug in the fridge downstairs.   The stairs are too hard to do now.  

My house has the kitchen, dining room and living room on the upper floor.  My nurse warned me that the stairs would become a problem, they did.  I was fortunate, my extended family flew in and out to stay with me.  My eyes would dry up for 10 days and then run for 10 days.  I lost my nose hair; my nose ran constantly.  I was a sight!

That was 6 months ago.  Today, Mary, Madame President and Sweet Pea popped in for coffee/lunch.  I went for a walk, stopped at the Produce Market where the cashier asked me if I had just got off work.  (she did, me, with no eyebrows or eyelashes, and my chemo hair!)   Laid down for a nap.  Rochelle called, we chatted the nap away.   Had my first manicure, since loosing my fingernails to the Docetaxol and stopped at White Spot for my first glass of wine since the Radiation.  All done with my Chemo Hair, it felt wonderful!  It’s 7:00 pm and I am in bed … but I will read tonite, I am tired but just.  Today was a very good day, with just a hint of what life could still hold!

My friend B came for a visit.  She asked me what I had learned.

“I don’t know yet” I replied “But this I know, it’s not about me, it is SO not about me.  I have been blessed to walk this earth with the parents, brothers, aunts, uncles, children, and friends that I have and yes, my husband too, wherever he is.”

I am grateful for each day, even the ones I still sleep through!

About It's Just About The Hair!

I was 55 when diagnosed with Invasive and Infiltrating Breast Cancer, Stage 3 (i). This is my journey. Through my journey I hope to raise awareness of Stage 3 (i) Breast Cancer. I want to give voice to an alone disease in a connected world. I want a place for my love to shine through. Here will be my story.
This entry was posted in Chemotherapy, My Joyful Noise, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

