Chemotherapy and Thanksgiving!

This is my entry on my CareFlash blog at Thanksgiving, October 10, 2011.

Happy Thanksgiving!

I am so thankful for each one of you who has helped me, driven me, driven my dad, driven my aunt, brought me soup, muffins, prayed together with me, believed in me!  

I can’t do this and then with the help of friends I realize, I can. 

I am very thankful for all my family and extended family.  Aren’t they amazing … I have been at this since April and they keep showing up and helping out!  This is such a lonely journey, I couldn’t do this without them!  And Dad, he is 80 and up for whatever I am up to … well almost 🙂

I am grateful for my girlfriends, how they can just show up with appys and wine and party with me in my PJ’s!  Love it!  They all had time to lunch together when I reached the 1/2 way point in my Chemo, girls I am almost through!

I am grateful for my kids, the way they showed up and had a wonderful party for Dad’s 80 birthday complete with a Web Page!  Awesome!  And the food, Dad loved it!

I am grateful for Gavin, bringing Butter Chicken for Thanksgiving Dinner, knowing that I had limited energy for any celebrating!  I am grateful to Rochelle that she didn’t bring her cold to me 🙂 I am grateful for Mary in Manitoba making Joe’s family a priority in their lives.  I am grateful for JJ Single, he is just being JJ Single, making friends and getting A’s at U of T!

I am grateful for the cards you have sent to encourage me, the notes you have sent to let me know others have done this journey and have their lives back.  The cards come in the mail as a little surprise encouragement, love it!  If I get my life back and my energy, I would like to make some changes, I hope I am bold enough to find my joy!

I am wondering if I should be thankful for my new hair, hair loss is a guaranteed side effect of all my chemo, and yet I have hair and quite a bit of it!  Is the chemo too busy killing the cancer that it has forgotten to kill the hair too, or is God reminding my that He knows now many hair are on my head at all times including this one!

This is interesting but I am grateful for all the pills and drugs I am taking.  I didn’t like taking pills but I have no problem with it now.  And I am thankful for them!

I am grateful for each one of you in my life! 

I find it interesting that in the middle of all the side effects and treatment, I am hoping I am bold enough to find my joy.  It has been a hugely courageous experience, the treatment, hugely bold.  I have done it one day at a time, with your prayers!  I am spent, exhausted, depleted, tired, sleepy, buzzed, vacant and joyfull!  All at the same time!  If I am going to make changes … I’ll have to wait for more energy.

I hope you have all had a Wonderful Easter!

He is Risen, He is Risen indeed!

About It's Just About The Hair!

I was 55 when diagnosed with Invasive and Infiltrating Breast Cancer, Stage 3 (i). This is my journey. Through my journey I hope to raise awareness of Stage 3 (i) Breast Cancer. I want to give voice to an alone disease in a connected world. I want a place for my love to shine through. Here will be my story.
This entry was posted in Chemotherapy, My Joyful Noise, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

