The day I met the Cowboy

September 26, 2011,

My oncologist is on holiday so I saw another oncologist today.  This other oncologist wore teal green cowboy boots.  Now, I like a man in summer, in jeans, in cowboy boots, outside in the sun, wherever but not in the rain at the Cancer Clinic as my oncologist and not teal green.  But then again who becomes an oncologist?  If you were an oncologsit how would you be noticed?

Apparently the sunburnt hand is from the Chemo but the peeling of the skin is from the very strong antibiotics.  So the man in the teal green boots tells me.  There you go, I once again, have learned something!  Apparently I handled the fever etc. *excellently,* so he is going to hit me again with the same dose!  Nobody like the Docetaxel, he says, it does not mix with water so they mix it with a detergent and that is what gives us Breast Cancer patients all the problems.  Crazy stuff, is he telling the truth?  He then proceeded to talk about FairPharmaCare and money and I started to look around the room for more feet that he could possibly put in his mouth.  O, well it’s probably just me.  This whole Cancer thing is taking a lot of time and energy! He meant well, he really did, and he meant to encourage me, it’s just that I have been around the block in life a few times and … well again … he meant well, I have to believe that!

So round 6 on Wednesday!  Actually the Chemo and the Neupogen are a surmounting foe.  The Neupogen stimulates the bone marrow into producing more white blood cells, the bone marrow, in turn, complains, thus pain.  I am taking a drug to dull the bone pain otherwise I can’t sit up.  The Chemo takes down the white blood cell count, last time it took all 7 injections to bring it up … here’s hoping that it is different this time!

When I look back on these notes and posts, I had no idea just how difficult the tasks ahead would be.  No idea.  Just living moment to moment, coping day-to-day.

What is it all about?

About It's Just About The Hair!

I was 55 when diagnosed with Invasive and Infiltrating Breast Cancer, Stage 3 (i). This is my journey. Through my journey I hope to raise awareness of Stage 3 (i) Breast Cancer. I want to give voice to an alone disease in a connected world. I want a place for my love to shine through. Here will be my story.
This entry was posted in Chemotherapy, My Joyful Noise, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

